Describe an annual day in your country when you give people special gifts?

In answering this question, I would like to explain about our annual holiday lunar new year. In my home country, we celebrate lunar new year with lots of respect by giving special gift everyone who came to their house.

But first, I would like to give short brief about Mongolian lunar new year. Every year, we celebrate lunar new year by leaving all bad things in last year, and beginning new year from the start with clearly and purely. For this is the reason, our lunar new year is called White Moon. In holiday table, everything should be as white as it could be, also inside the house, everything should be filled for welcoming new year. We believe that white means pure and filled containers means fulfilled life. Also, special gift is prepared for visitors so that we believe that it will bring happiness. However, we do not exchange gifts, we just give gift when the person came into our houses.

Special gift includes cups, container or something that is able to fill something. This kind of gift brings luck and happiness. Another type of gift is "khadag" made by silk. Khadag is for elders, means respecting their ages and wishing to live longer. Also for kids, sweets and treats given so that children will be happy. We believe that if children happy, it means the family will stay happy for whole coming year.

Also, there are some gifts that is forbidden, mean bad luck. This includes, knives, scissors or other sharp edges stuff means blood.

I remember the gifts I prepared for my cousins when I was kid. Every gifts are bought from different places for preparing special gifts. After they came to my house and receives their gifts, they were so happy and. In my opinion, any gift that is specially bought brings happiness to receiver.