Q. Describe a custom from your country that you would like people from other countries to adopt. Explain your choice

Fasting is an integral part of Indian culture.People throughout the country observe fast during various religious occasions. I would strongly recommend it to other countries to adopt it. It is my firm belief that it will help the people both in cleansing their body and also spiritually.

First, fasting has so many health benefits. There have been many scientific studies that show that fasting takes less calorie intake, It leads to reduced body weight. Also it promotes blood sugar control and improves metabolism. In Indian culture, it’s also believed that it cleanses your body. From my personal experience, my wife used to do fasting once a week. It helped her control her weight even after having a heavy diet. For this reason, I would recommend fasting to the people who are conscious about their body and would like to try something without compromising a lot on their diet.

Secondly, in Indian culture it is widely believed that by doing fasting, one is devoiding oneself of necessary food and kind of punishing themselves for their sins.Also, it is believed in Hindu culture that our bodies are temples of the lord .Fasting is a great time to remember the spiritual connection we have with our bodies. As India is already quite known for spirituality via yoga and Hindu culture of gods, I believe that people will be able to understand the connection of fasting with spirituality. They would therefore be interested in trying it.

So,based on the above reasons, I would be very proud to introduce this custom of fasting to the people from other countries as I believe it has huge benefits for everyone.