Some people trust their first impressions about a person’s character because they believe these judgments are generally correct. Other people do not judge a person’s character quickly because they believe first impressions are often wrong. Compare these two attitudes. Which attitude do you agree with? Support your choice with specific examples.

Some people judge other people’s character by first impression while others don’t. I completely agree that to judge a person’s character in the first appearance is more often wrong. It’s because first impression doesn’t reveal someone’s character at all and it’s very superficial way to identify a person. Also, it takes many meeting to judge someone’s character.

Firstly, let’s say you meet a new colleague for the first time. He or she might be wearing some dirty clothes. So, we will assume that this person is always dirty, and therefore make assumptions about her work style and we would decide to stay far from them.But, on the other hand, it is entirely possible that there might be some issue because of which she couldn’t get the new clothes. And from next day, she started wearing nice clothes. In this case, the judgement is very superficial and is very wrong. Later, on you might realise they are extremely careful about organising their work.

Second, It is often been said that time test someone’s character. So, it’s only when we have seen someone in difficult situations or difficult times, we can know their true character. For example, let’s say you met someone and they asked you for some money to pay some bills. One might judge that this person always borrows money. Later, when you meet them again after a month, you might find out that this person worked hard for a month with multiple jobs and is ready to pay you back.

In general, I firmly believe that we should always have few meeting with someone to judge a person’s character. A first impression is always a false impression and doesn’t help in any ways of building a relationship between two human beings.