In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people

An art is a piece of work of artists, through which they try to show their understanding of a theme or topic through a physical and visual form.They have various forms of arts like film,novel,poem,song,paintings and many more.

It needs to be understood by the viewers so that they can get the main gist of the art.

For many artists the primary objective is to create a art which has deep meaning and promotes freedom of expression.

For them money is secondary.Great artists like Pablo Picasso & Leonardo Da Vinci focussed on creating great art,which we can see by the time pieces they have created and is now appreciated worldwide.Had they been driven by money and make it,their names might not have been their on the history.

Nowadays,its getting even difficult for an artist to survive only based on creativity because of the money driven world we currently live in.Some artists have to compromise on their creativity and the complex form of art which might not be understandable by common people.In this field they are creating art which is customer centric and easily understood by them.And,the film industry is a perfect example of this.We can see that the quality of films are declining year by year as they are driven by money mindedness.But their are great directors like Christopher Nolan,who are making beautiful,creative films and also they try to make it understandable by common people.Film like these should be the ideal way of creation as they are trying to convey a great idea and also making the viewer curious.

Arts like painting are more complex and difficult to understand by common people.Its also difficult to convey the idea of an art by words of mouth, and also alters the interpretation of the art.

Its whole purpose and the time,money and effort spent will not be able to fruitify and convey to greater masses but well understood and appreciated by a few.

Also, in case of novels,Self help books are meant to provide guidance and must be understandable,while on the other hand fiction novels can be complex or easy,based on the author's choice and creativity.

Therefore,it is an artists choice in their respective field,in which one has to chose between popularity or merit.If he wants to convey a complex art form,then he must be ready that only a few will be able to appreciate it and one might or might not paid for it.On the other hand,if one wants to make a popular film,song then he can make it more understandable and less complex and get financially rewarded.