It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

I disagree with the statement that one should have many knowledge of academic subjects.I believe that specialising in one subject can lead to one develop and follow one’s own interest and contribute more in their field. One can get well paid jobs and that matches their interests.

First, one must specialise in a field they are interested in. This helps them develop their interests, while just having knowledge of academic subjects will not help you develop many interests as you will get bored by the quantity of information in each field. Also, if you specialise in your interested field, you will devote more efforts and time in your field without any external motivation. While many people read many academic subjects just to clear an exam or graduate from their college.

Second, because many domains like engineering and doctor are so vast & complicated that you need years of practice to master these domains. It’s not humanly possible just to become a great doctor and an engineer together. One must focus on their domain and try to specialise in that. It’s only then they can contribute and make their mark in their field. While understanding many academic subjects does not help you contribute much to one field as you don’t have much knowledge of that field.

Third, specialising also help in getting well payed jobs. It’s because once you specialise, there are many few people in the world that can do what you can do in your field. And let’s say if you become a better programmer, then the society and businesses needs lot of programmers. You can easily get a well payed job. While just merely reading various academic subject might not help you much in job hunting.

Therefore, I believe that specialising in one subject is much more important than just having basic understanding of various subjects. One can truly make their mark by specialising in one subject rather that just be ordinary.