“Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of allowing television advertising to be directed toward young children (aged two to five). Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.”

People's minds are transformed by what they see in their daily lives. TV shows are one of the key thing that shapes people from childhood as they grow up. TV programs such as advertisements sometimes command people's opinions about whether or not they will purchase the advertised merchandise; thus, it might not be great to encourage adults to keep watching them. Most importantly, advertisements should not be directed towards young children because television advertising may diffuse negative words and may be irrelevant to the children.

First, television advertisement may diffuse bad words, which can negatively affects the live of one's child. Children are extremely malleable people; thus, everything they see or hear is likely to be part of their behavior. Addressing television advertising programs to children will expose them to the danger of adopting manners from strangers, including people with insane characters. For example, at the age of 5, my cousin Matthew used to watch presidential campaign advertisements. In fact, the lesothian campain at the time had plenty of inappropriate words to use in public. Unfortunately, Matthew memorized many of them. Consequently, he kept on using them in front of adult. Many people were uncomfortable with the impolites words he would throw all the time. Because of watching advertisement, one can unknowingly copy bad habits from other people.

Second, most of advertisements are irrelevant to children. In fact, studies have shown that for an advertisement to be efficient, there is need to incorporate figures and people that the intended audience is familiar and would like to see. That is, company making cars for example will portray a wonderful day, the car in a impecable condition, plus a beautiful lady - in an undecent clothing. The lady is displayed to keep people interested about the products - in this case, cars. As more often the ladies are not decently dressed, this advertisement is irrelevant for young children. Even though advertising companies may claim that they will appropriate their products to young children, competition will make them go over the limits and portray irrelevant display, such as half-naked people pictures or illustration to children.

In conclusion, advertisement should not be appropriate to young children because competitions may lead advertising companies to display irrelevant images to children, which may negatively affect their lives. The example of car companies illustrates this. In addition, advertisement may diffuse bad words that may be detrimental to young children's lives.