Good teachers set challenging tasks to their students

People often love those who give them easier tasks. The same truth is valid for students. Many of them may argue that good teachers are those who do not make their life harder. Only a few of them are open to challenges because they recognize the great advantage of challenges in life. Good teachers should set challenging task to their students.

Professor need to understand that they are meant to develop growth mindset in their students. Carol Dweck, a psychologist at Stanford University, showed in her study of mindset that students who have a growth mindset enjoy studies more when they are challenged while others take courses as an humiliating thing because they fear failure. Due to the fact that the goal of studying is not to be humiliated, professors should focus more on the bright side and make sure students enjoy the courses. Developing a growth mindset in students will require the instructor to set difficult goals to students and require them to accomplish them as well as help them with strategies to succeed next time. It is important that educators create passion in their students, and the best way to do so is to create a growth mindset in them.

Challenges help people understand the real meaning of life. If students succeed all the time, they might think that everything will be a success to them, which is not accurate. Antoine de Saint Exupery, a french writer said that a man discover his strength when he compares himself to obstacles. When professors compare they students to obstacles and difficult tasks, they help them know what are their abilities. It is vital that professor help their students understand what they are good at so that they improve.

In conclusion, professor should keep setting challenging targets to their students to help them develop and grow. When students are doing challenging tasks, they are aware of their strengths and weaknesses, and professor should create a studying love in his students to help them become successful.