Do you agree with the following statement Raising the price of gasoline and electricity is the only effective way to save energy

Today's modern world places a great deal of importance on saving energy. With this in mind, governments' officials and ordinary people often debate whether increasing the price of oil and gas is an effective tool for controlling their consumption or not. I personally of the opinion that this is not a beneficial move for various reasons, two of which I shall touch upon in the following paragraphs to substantiate my perspective.

To begin with, any prohibitive action such as increasing price tend to have negative effect because it does not stem from will of citizen. Nowadays, government enacted numerous prohibitive laws which do not hold the values that they were supposed to. In spite of those laws, People are going to act against those laws to show their oppositions. For example, two years ago, Iranian government passed a law which prohibits individuals to walk their dogs in beach. After two years, there are more and more people taking their dog to beaches, even people who did not have dog in the past, join others to show their opposition to the law. In exchange, government should promote energy-efficient life style through the means that they control. For example, there should be informative tv program of the effect of carbon emission. Needless to say, the cumulative emission of carbon will result in intensifying greenhouse effect and make our climate warmer. This warmer climate is not suitable for lots of creature and even may cause extinction. This will convince people to engage in energy-efficient behavior which is good for their environment. Therefore, culture and lifestyle-centered behavior will have positive effect beyond our imagination.

Another point worth mentioning is that the increase in oil and other distilled fuel will have effect on transportation cost and thus the final cost of probably every product will rise. This rise in prices makes people even frustrated and mad at the government. In this day and age of globalization, the online shopping is pretty common. Long-distance shopping necessitate shipping. Knowing that, the final price of each and every product is going to be much higher, due to the fact that the transportation cost should be considered. In our economic climate, people are a spark away from rebellion and revolution and it maybe that spark that stimulate aggressive behaviors in society.

To conclude, having considered all points discussed previously, I firmly believe that the rise in the price of gasoline and electricity is not the only effective way to save energy. This is because not only it results in negative behavior, but it also increases the overall cost of living.