Do you agree with the following statement To succeed in school or work the ability to adapt to changing conditions or circumstances is more important than excellent knowledge in a job or a field of study

There are many abilities that lead to success in work. Some people prefer to use their adequate knowledge in their work or study field. However, the knowledge could not always be effective because problems are resolved more efficiently by newer methods. As a result, I firmly believe that having the ability to adapt or adjust to changing circumstances is more critical. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, there are always new assignments that require employees or students to learn new skills, because such skills are able to solve problems more efficiently. Only those who can adapt to the changes learn and apply the skills swiftly. For example, when I was a college student, I had an assignment that required me to implement a program to recognize doors. At first, I chose a conventional algorithm in computer vision. This algorithm required me to analyze the shapes, lines , and other features in doors, which took a lot of time. Even though I implemented the program, there were limited types of doors that could be detected. After studying the latest paper and methods of detecting objects, I applied a deep learning method instead. In the end, the program could detect much more types of doors, and the overall implementation time was also reduced.

Secondly, employees or students do not always stay in the same work environment, because they might change their jobs. The ability to adapt to a distinct environment quickly assists a person to be fully involved in the new team and cooperate with other peers. For example, my colleague, Peter, changed his job three months ago. He needed to maintain and fix bugs in programs in his previous job; comparatively, the new team requires Peter to cooperate with other coworkers. Peter is soon involved in the new team and communicates with other colleagues. In the end, Peter successfully co-works with other team members and finishes the tasks.

To sum up, I’m a firm believer that obtaining the skills to adapt to the changing conditions or circumstances is the key to becoming successful at work. First, this ability assists students or employees to find newer and more efficient solutions to a problem. Second, the skill allows workers or students to be fully involved in a different environment quickly and cooperate with other people.