Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

There are various kinds of courses in universities for students to take. Some people encourage students to take courses related to their majors. I hold the belief that college students should take history courses no matter what their field of study is because such courses aid students to know deeper about their environment and respect different cultures.

First of all, learning history of a country assists students to know deeper about their surroundings because such courses introduce the stories of the local places. Once students know the local stories, they might link to the place much more. For example, I took a history class that introduce the development of Hsinchu city when I was a college student. The professor had taught the histories when Hsinchu was ruled in Quin Dynasity and Japanese period. I learned that there was a gate built by local citizens in Quin Dynasity to protect themselves, and there were fascinating office buildings that were construct in Japanese period. All of the historical buildings are preserved well currently. As a result, whenever my friends visit Hsinchu, I always introduce the histories and the building to them, and these change our impression to the city.

Secondly, students who take history of foreign countries can respect distinctive cultures because they know the background and information behind such cultures. For example, I took a history class about Japan when I was in university. The professor mainly introduced Japanese history and culture. The most impressive content of the course was that Japanese people work hard because of not only the responsibility to work but also improving skills. Each workers fulfill themselves through advancing their abilities at work. One of the most example is that there is a construction team that have existed more than one thousand years in Kyoto, the employees keep sharpening their construction skills. After taking this course, I respect the history and culture in Japan much more.

To sum up, I'm a firm believer that students should take history courses. Because taking history courses about local place help students know deeper about the local places and build the connection to the environment. Besides, taking history courses about foreign countries assists students to respect different cultures by learning the stories and reasons behind the culture.