The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview Our citizens are well aware of the fact that while the Grandview Symphony Orchestra was struggling to succeed our city government promised annual funding to help support it

In this argument, the author maintains that, the symphony has succeeded in finding an audience; hence, the city could abate the funding of the symphony. Although it seems convincing at the first glance; nevertheless, this argument fails to be completely compelling, for it contains a series of unwarranted assumptions and due to the lack of necessary evidence.

First of all, the arguer simply assumes that the symphony hired an internationally prominent conductor who is able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform. Without offering the tenable evidence, the arguer could not back up this fundamental assumption, although it is not entirely impossible. It is also likely that the cooperation with the high-profile guest musicians is transient because of lacking long-term contract. For example these guest musicians come to the performance just for advocating their own show, and they merely perform limited songs in the symphony. If they don't have any performance to be advocated, they might not perform in the symphony, and the number of audiences would decrease. In order to strengthen this argument, the author should provide more credible evidence, and rule out and account for other and alternative explanations.

What is more, the author assumes that the private contributions to the symphony have tripled and the attendance at the symphony's outdoor summer concert series has reached record highs. It is equally possible that the private contribution could be lost or reduced in the future. For instance, an economical crisis would seriously impact the income of the private contributors. For the sake of saving the expenditure for life, they might choose to cut off the sponsorship to the symphony. Moreover, future concert might not be able to attract sufficient amount of audiences to support the expenses to support the symphony. As a result, the author should provide more persuasive and professional evidence to substantiate the assumption. For any of those scenarios, if true, would undoubtedly weaken the argument.

Finally, even though the assumptions on which the argument is based are true, the conclusion merely relies on the assumption that the symphony has succeeded in finding an audience, the city could eliminate the funding of the symphony. Thus, it is not entirely unreasonable to question the author's conclusion. For example, current audiences are attracted primarily because of the new conductor, if the conductor chooses to attend another symphony and leave the current team, the audiences may be disappointed, and turn to watch the shows of the other symphony teams. Lacking this indispensable evidence, the author clearly could not firmly bolster the argument.

To sum up, the argument is not as valid as it seems, for it lakes necessary evidence and sound reasoning. To better evaluate the author's conclusion, it is critical to provide more persuasive and unbiased evidence, sound rigidly, and rule out potential explanations.