Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take at least one class that teaches the culture of a country other than their own Use specific reasons and example to support your opinion

Students in college can take a variety of courses, these courses provide professional training or culture introduction. Students acquire distinct types of knowledge in different classes. I firmly believe that students need to take at least one class about culture in college, because such courses

assists students to learn the history and culture of a country deeply, and respect foreigners’ behaviors. My reasons are as follow.

To begin with, taking courses about the culture of a country assists students to know the history of the nation, and become more proud of the country. By learning the culture of the country, the students would have deeper link to the environment. For example, I took a course that introduce the culture and history about Hsinchu when I was a college student. The professor mentioned tourists could visit a gate built Quin dynasty, and other historical buildings that were constructed in Japanese period. After taking the course, I realized that the culture in Hsinchu was more profound than I had imagined. In the end, whenever my friends plan to have trip, I always introduce the culture and history in Hsinchu and encourage them to visit the historical sites.

Secondly, students are able to respect different people through taking culture of a country because they learn the distinction between different places and how people from other places behave distinctly. For example, I took a class that introduced Japan culture in college. The professor taught the history of Japan, the society in Japan, and other related topics about Japanese culture. Through learning the courses, I know the reason why Japanese people are independent to others, because they don’t want to unnecessarily offend other people. If I hadn’t taken the class, I would still have misunderstandings about Japan.

To sum up, I’m a firm believer that students must take at least one course about culture in university. Because the courses assists students to discover the history and culture that they didn’t know before, and allows students to learn different cultures and respect other people.