Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take ‎at least one class that teaches the culture of a country other than their own. Use specific reasons and ‎example to support your opinion.‎

Without a shadow of doubt, getting familiar with other cultures can play a prominent role in every ‎individual’s life, as it can expose people to new things rather than what they see in their own society. Some ‎people are proponents of the belief that everyone should get familiar with other cultures when they feel ‎they are ready for it and on their own will; however, others hold another perspective and believe that ‎universities should oblige students to take a course about a culture other than their own and learn about it. ‎The idea to which I subscribe is the latter one. My viewpoint is based on quite a few reasons, two ones of ‎which have been elaborated upon hereunder.‎

The first vital point to bear in mind is that when students try to get familiar with other cultures, they would ‎have a better chance to work in other countries with that culture. By understanding and getting to ‎know a culture in deep, they would even have the chance to do business with them efficiently, which can ‎benefit them in the long run. A case in point is what happened to one of my friends, who used to be very into Chinese culture. Hence, he started to learn Mandarin, which is the spoken language in China. As a ‎consequence, when he pursued his business goals in marketing, their company chose him to be their ‎deputy in order to do handle the business affairs in China. ‎

The second noteworthy reason is that when students get familiar with other cultures, they would have the ‎chance to know more about different attitudes towards life, for a lot of things such as religion, language, ‎social values and so forth can be different in different countries. Furthermore, they would even have the ‎chance to see what cultures suit their own beliefs regarding life best and choose to live in a country with ‎that specific culture. My own experience is a good example of this matter. The city where I was born was a ‎conventional and religious and people there, were tremendously serious about their beliefs, as they did not ‎compromise with people with other religions or conventions. As I was growing up, I had the chance to ‎learn about other cultures through media and reading books and at one point I was convinced that I ‎cannot stand this attitude towards life anymore and decided to emigrate. Therefore, since I was familiar ‎with other cultures I chose a country that was in alignment with my beliefs.‎

In short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that students should be required to learn ‎about cultures other than their own, as they could do business with them and they can get familiar with ‎different attitudes regarding life and even choose the place they would like to live in.‎