do you agree or disagree with the following question? in order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news sources.

In modern society, media was almost everywhere. At the beginning of one day, I read a newspaper when eating breakfast. On the mass transportation to office, I listen to radio programs until the subway arrive my destination. A high school boy next to me is playing an I-phone, and people on the bus read books, journals, and magazines. I usually skimp newspapers and magazines when passing by a convenient store. Actually, there are too many sources providing information. I take advantage of them every day, but I still do not feel well-informed, because there is too much information filling into my thinking. So that is the reason why I disagree with the statement that a person must get information from various news sources to be well-informed.

First of all, there are too many sources, and most of them give segment information. The segment information might be misleading our judgment. For example, the weather reports on channels always have different opinions. Sometimes a program says there would be rain tomorrow with 30 percentage raining rate, the other provided that it would be cloudy tomorrow and possible a sunny day. Their forecasts are different and might be true. Unfortunately, people are more likely to get all of them, which made us harder to make a decision for tomorrow’s plan. Hence, people get information from different sources might mislead their judgment and be more difficult to be well-informed.

Second, if the people have many sources for information, they will have no time to be well-informed, because they must spend more time integrating them. For example, when I was in the university, I did a study on earth quake and tsunami. I gathered the information from textbooks, national geographic magazines, and discovery channel, as well as the internet. I spent many time organizing these information, and got different knowledge from different media. From the textbook, I knew causes of earth quake and its relationship with tsunami. Then, from the discovery channel, I learned the nascent point of view from well-known researchers. I also had the various theories on the internet and finally found they were partially obsolete. After I gathered all the information, I found that to integrate them into a study was really a task, since there was too much information. As a result, I needed more time to be well-informed, and I would rather to take a geological class about the topic.

In sum, there are too many sources providing information. We could spend a lot of time to absorb it all, but the information might be different from different sources. This might make us misleading and lose our judgment. In addition, information from different sources might be too diverged to merge. With that, we have to spend more time on organization. Therefore, many different news sources are appropriate for a person who wants to be well-informed.