Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily

Friendship has always been one of the most significant types of relationships, which has a wide variety of impacts on everybody's life. Concerning this issue, some people believe that people have to preserve their friendship for a long time since it is essential for their euphoria, while some others think finding new friends, even if they will be lost very soon is a more important factor in forming a happy life. As far as I am concerned, I have enough reasons to suppose that the first idea carries more weight. I will enlarge on what I mean in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, although making several new friends can happy people for a short period, it is more essential to maintain it, because lifelong friends have noticeable prolonged effects on each other, such as delight. In other words, the stable happiness cannot compare with ephemeral one. People can earn a long joy when they maintain friendships with even a few friends after a long time since they have distinctive memories together and can catch up on the good old days. The remembrance of memories from different stages of their lives will cheer them up and will make their day. I have to admit that my opinion is profoundly influenced by my own experience. My best friend, who is in Norway nowadays, and I often hold some party and talk about the past time since we have lots of things in common. These sorts of meetings have always made me happy, I burst out laughing and cannot put a stop to it. As a result, preservation of the friendships with a small group for a long time make people happier than making lots of new friendships all the time.

The other reason which deserves some words here lies in the fact that making new friends easily can be detrimental since people cannot be familiar with each other very soon and it can result in being upset because of their behaviors, while people know their lifelong friends' attitudes very well. To clarify this point, finding several new friends that you do not know their characteristics can make you mentally ill since it is more likely that they do some things or say some words which will make you sad. Whereas, retaining old friendships can give rise to joyfulness as easily as possible because their features are predictable for you and won't bother you.

To sum up, given the facts that people have lots in common with lifelong friends and are familiar with their quality, I am of the opinion that maintaining the old friendships is a more noteworthy factor for happiness than being capable to make a number of new friends.