Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Advertising can tell you a lot about a country. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Considering the word advertisement, it provokes many concepts among different people. Some might consider it a positive tool in the fate of a country, while others may think of it unquestionably a reason of conflict. As far as I am concerned, I adopt a firm position which will support the statement that commercials are absolutely a reflection of a country. There are many reasons for this perspective but I will discuss only the primary ones here.

First of all, television commercial plays a significant role to portray our culture and traditional vibrances. Some advertisements show people’s ideology ,their way of communication, habits and what is valuable to them. I would like to illustrate my point with a vivid example. Recently, a renowned jewellery company in my country named “Tanishq” is broadcasting their commercial where a woman adorned with gorgeous attire and resplendent jewellery is making design with colourful sands on the floor. On the other side, her children are bursting crackers and they are saying, ‘ make this” Diwali” more beautiful with Tanishq’. This commercial gives a massage that during the festival of diwali , people burst crackers and make designs with colourful sands. This example solidifies the dominance of my view that advertising is undeniably a strong tool of conveying cultural values.

Secondly, there is another factor which deserves few words. The advertising helps understand the development of a country. Certainly, there are many private channels in a country, which are owned by some wealthy people and can be very advanced in technicalities, but the national channels utilize the state fund and best represent the true picture of country's progress. For instance, several years beck, television commercials in my country used to be very old fashioned, in terms of graphics, editing, and even the settings for a commercial. However, in few years, there has been a progressive inclination of youth towards media education. This has made a noticeable difference in the field of telecommunication and it has become much more advanced now. When today, I compare channels of some developed countries with that of mine, I do not find much difference. Presumably, this has been possible just because of the advent of the technology, and the best representation to portray this development is the television commercials. This example clearly solidifies the dominance of my opinion that advertising play an important role in representing a country's growth.

By way of conclusion, based on the ideas explored above, I am of the opinion that in most cases, advertisement may seem insignificant to some people but it serves as a key stone in telecommunication. Not only does it reflect a country's traditional values but it also educates the world at large. For these reasons, I strongly support the statement that commercials really tell about a country. Therefore, in my opinion, a person should value the importance of advertisement for the betterment of his country.