Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All school teachers should be required to take courses every five years to update their knowledge.

It is an undeniable fact that teachers play a central role in a education system. Because of this fact, some people are inclined to the view that school educators should be obliged to improve their knowldege by taking certain classes each five year. However, I, for the one, firmly believe that there is no need for all school teachers to take classes in order to update their knowledge. In what follows, I will aptly substantiate my viewpoint.

To begin with, there are other ways that teachers can improve their knowledge through them. Nowadays, with the unprecedented growth of technology, almost everybody have access to the Internet. Cosequently, teachers can remain up-to-date using this spectacular possibility. My experience is a compelling example of this reason. As a master student, I was required to be the teaching assistant for a bachelor's course. During my sessions, I had to solve the assignments for the students. Sometimes, some students ask me questions about the state-of-the-art usage of the course in technology. Using the material on the Internet, I was able to locate some very specific answers to their questions. Furthermore, teaching is a two-way road; in other words, because teachers have to deal with students all the time, their knowledge is improving through their direct touch with students. For instance, because students ask challenging questions from their teachers all the time, the educators who have to find the appropriate answers are being imprved in this way.

Secondly, school teachers often teach some basic courses that do not change significantly with time. In other words, the purppose of most of the given courses in schools is to only give an insight about the fundamental grounds of a particular subject so that after being familiarized with that topic students can make an awared choice about their major in university. As a result, and because of the fact that the basics do not change a lot with time, the teachers do not need to be that much updated. For example, the basic rules and axioms of mathemcatics do not chnage a lot with time.

To wrap it up, I strongly assert that teachers should not be required to take courses in order to improve their knowledge. Because not only are there other means through which they can remain updated, but also they often teach some basic topics that do not change a lot.