Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue of whether universities should manage the curriculum for the students has triggered public interest. Some people say it should be compulsory for all students to take part in history classes because learning this subject helps them to have a better understanding of the world while others argue that historical knowledge is useless to our lives now. For me, it is necessary for all students to take history courses due to the following reasons.

First of all, learning history makes college students cherish more about normal things they obtain in life. Nowadays, college students tend to ignore the small, but meaningful things in daily life. However, learning the history and development of a certain thing allows students to realize what rough process their ancestors have been through to make sure they can live a peaceful and happy life. For example, I had a bad habit of leaving the light on even when the room is empty. After a history class where I learned that before Edison invented the light bulb, people read with candles or under bare sunlight, the inconsistency of the light source made it very hard to distinguish the words. However, under those severe circumstances, they still worked hard. I came to realize the preciousness of the light and get rid of the bad habit.

In addition, this can make the student develops a sense of belonging and pride towards their mother country. By acknowledging the tough process of those wonderful achievements, students tend to feel proud of their ancestors. All students in China are proud of their four great inventions thanks to the emphasis of compulsory history courses from primary to high school. Thus, there is no reason for not setting the history class, which can result in the enhancement of patriotism in college students.

To sum up, I think all students should study the history subject because this helps them cherish things in life and be proud of their country.