Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of society, the construction of the country becomes a salient question for modern people. It is claimed that governments ought to provide more money to support arts than to athletics. However I am strongly opposed of this proposal.

First of all, athletics and arts are of great importance to a country. While arts can benefit people mentally, athletics can do advantages to people physically. Sponsoring Olympic teams helps to make people learn more about a particular sport, plenty opportunities will be offered to people. Sports equipment will be set up in the neighborhood, matches will be held every weekend. Thus people will get more exposure to sports and even get involved. Take Liverpool for example, Liverpool is an England city famous for its football team. Football instantly became a popular sport in the area after the city sponsored the team, which greatly encouraged the citizens to play football. Every people in the city became a fantastic football player due to the investment of the local government.

In addition, the promotion of athletics can not only help the sport team to gain fame but also can let the city be more exposed to the whole world. Investing money in athletics help to build a sense of pride in the citizens. Since sport teams are always the symbol of a city, people will easily think of Rockets when Miami is mentioned. The uniqueness will have a positive effect on building up the sense of belonging to the city. For example, people in Miami loves the Rocket, they are more than happy to see their favorite team wins a game, since therefore not only the basketball team but also the city will also be known by people throughout the world.

To sum up, I find it important to spend abundant money in athletics. Because improving athletics constructions can improve people's physical health and also help to build a sense of pride of the city among the citizens.