Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is the most important part of everyone's life. Everyone goes through many courses during school time regardless of what they are interested in or what they want to study as a major field in the future. They are some common things like different kinds of science, art, literature, and history that teachers teach their students in school years. When the students enter university they are free to choose what they want to study and be experts in that field. So, they are actually eager to have courses related to their major. Some people believe it would be better all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is, but others, including me, reject this. In this essay, I am going to explain the potential three reasons to support my idea.

First of all, the university is a place that students want to study their interesting field. As a person, I know, knowing about your past and studying history is valuable and worthy, but forcing students to take a history course is not a good idea. It is better to encourage students to take a history course as an optional course. So, people who participate in a history course will learn a lot and the course will be more effective in comparison with those who are forced to take it just because of grade or obligation.

Secondly, university students want to be expert in one thing instead of knowing everything basically. Actually, in my opinion, the purpose of going to university is to take special courses in the field we want to become an expert. therefore, taking courses that are out of student's interest, probably make students reluctant to follow higher education. For example, in my university years, in the first semesters, we had to take irrelevant courses like history and it really made me disappointed. I wanted to learn more about my major as soon as possible but we just took specialized courses in later semesters.

Finally, the last thing I want to mention is that we already learn enough about history in school years. If the purpose of the obligation of taking history course in the university is just knowing about our past, so we have adequate knowledge. So, it is better to make it an optional course for those who are really enthusiastic and eager to learn more about history.

To sum up, as I mentioned above, I totally disagree with the idea of all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is and also it is better to be an optional course for willing students.