Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?
Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship.
Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words.
There are certain considerations or factors that everyone takes into account in a relationship.
People may look for honesty, altruism, understanding, loyalty, being thoughtful
etc! Everyone would more or less wish that the person s/he is dealing with, has some of
these virtues above. Putting them in an order according to their importance, however
can be very subjective and relative.
When someone asks him/herself the question “What do I consider to be the most
important thing in my relationship?” the answer depends on a lot of factors such as how
his/her earlier relationships were.
After stating that everyone’s opinion can be different about this, for me honesty, in
other words, always telling the truth is the most important consideration in a relationship.
Opposite of this is inarguably lying and if someone needs to lie, either s/he is hiding
something or is afraid of telling me something.
In any relationship of mine, I would wish that first of all, the person I’m dealing with
is honest. Even though s/he thinks that s/he did something wrong that I wouldn’t like,
s/he’d better tell me the truth and not lie about it. Later on if I find out about a lie or
hear the truth from someone else, that’d be much more unpleasant. In that case how
can I ever believe or trust that person again? How can I ever believe that this person has
enough confidence in me to forgive him/her and carry on with the relationship from
there. So if I cannot trust a person anymore, if the person doesn’t think I can handle the
truth, there’s no point to continuing that relationship.
Although I would like to see altruistic, understanding, thoughtful and loyal behavior
from people, an instance of the opposite of these behaviors would not upset me as
much as dishonesty would. Among all the possible behaviors, dishonesty is the only one
for me that terminates how I feel about a person’s reliability. Therefore honesty would be
my first concern and the most important consideration in a relationship.