Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Humans have the desire of being held accountable by someone. This is why they look for partners in their lifetimes with whom they can establish strong relationships. Relationships, though, are very fragile and are susceptible of being broken. Some of the causes of friendship breakage are: distrust, dishonesty, and incomprehension. Always telling the truth is the most important factor to consider in a relationship because it allows partners to trust each other and have healthy lives as it improves one’s mental and spiritual health.

First, honesty establish a relation of trust between people. When two individuals are always honest with one another, they are more likely to rely on each other. For instance, my cousin Anne was told that her husband was caught in a position of adultary with another woman in his office. She took the information with a grain of salt. As soon as the spouse arrived at their home, he explained to her the reason behind his being in a position of adultary, which is that he wanted to defend himself from going to jail. Michel had never lied to her. Aware of that, Anne trusted him. Anne's trust in her husband conserved their relationship, for many women in her community leave their spouses after receiving such information.

Second, telling the truth improves people's mental and spiritual health. It is integral that people in a relationship feel comfortable in order to enjoy their lives. Lying compromises the happiness that people have from being honest. For example, back in high school, I would lie to my friend that I knew how to drive. Many times, we had a car in front of us and needed someone to drive. In such circumstances, my friends always asked me to drive. I felt uncomfortable to tell them that I could not and found an excuse. Be that as it may, I always felt guilty and unhappy when I met with my friends because I associated their presence with a trial to drive. Lack of honesty is detrimental to a relationship; that is, honesty is key for healthy relationships.

In conclusion, telling the truth is the most important aspect of relationship. Being truthful reinforces trust in relationships. Also, honesty brings peace in people's heart, in addition to enhancing their mental and spiritual health, in their relationships. Everybody should consider building friendships basing on honesty as the most important criteria.