Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because modern life is very complex, it is essential for young people to have the ability to plan and organize.

Most people agree that discipline and planing are essential for success. Personally, I believe that in today's society it is important for young people to have a plan for their future. I feel this way for two reasons , which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, young people usually do not know the value of time and because of that they waste a lot of their time doing useless stuff such as computer games thinking that the opportunities that they have now will remain waiting for them. By planning for the future they realize how little time they really have, therefore will make better use of their time. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a high school student, I wasted my time on video games and novels rather than studying for university entrance exam. At that time, I thought that I'll always have time to study for my exam. My father saw that and advised me to devote more time to studying my lessons but I was carefree and did not heed his advice and did not study as well as I should have. As a result, I failed my exam and had to waste another year to prepare and take the exam again. Had I made a plan for my future I would have realized how limited my time was and that I should not waste it.

Furthermore, by planning for the future and organizing priorities one can find out what he or she wants to do with his or her life. For example, what kind of job do they want to have and what do they need to do in order to have that job. For instance when I graduated from university, lots of my friends were going to continue their education and get a masters degree. At that time because I had no plans for my future I followed in their footsteps and got a masters degree and it was then that I realized it was better for me to get a job and acquire experience. because a masters degree would not mean much in my line of work. On the other hand, having work experience was much more important.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that young people must have a realistic plan for their future. This is because planning helps them to realize how little time they actually have thus they will avoid wasting their time, and planning helps them to realize what they really want to do and how they should use their resources.