Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Most people agree that everyone in the world should make rational decisions based on present facts. Personally, I believe that nowadays young people are better able to make decisions about their own life. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, in the past few decades, technology has been progressing very rapidly. This has caused rapid changes in lifestyle of the society and caused lots of opportunities such as jobs to appear. Such changes happened so fast that parents did not have enough time to adapt, as a result they may not make good decisions. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. At the time my father was young, higher educational degrees meant better job opportunities, higher social status and higher salary. But as the time passed these privileges that came with higher degrees faded and having a high university degree was not as advantageous as before, as a result a few years ago my father suggested was to study PHD. He supported his suggestion by claiming the advantages that such degrees had in the past, which don't exist anymore. After consulting with other people who had PHD i was made sure that getting in is a huge waste of time. Therefore, I did not go with what my father said. My father's opinion was not wrong back then when he was my age, but it is not a good opinion now.

Further mode, anyone especially young people should be able to Think independently and gain experience by making mistakes. For instance, when I was a few years younger I was too dependent on my parent’s decision making, as a result I did not choose my major in university based on what I really liked but rather based on my parent’s opinion. and now that I have finished university, I regret my decision because I hate my job. had I thought independently back then, I could have my dream job now.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that young people should decide on their own. This is because the solutions and choices that were good in the past may not be ideal for now, and young people should learn to think independently and not rely on others' opinions too much.