Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university.

Most people agree that deciding the major that they want to study in university, is one of the most important choices that they make, since it will decide what kind of job that they will have in the future. Personally, I believe that it is much better if students have at least a time distance of one year between their high school and university. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, getting a university will take at least four years and it is important to make a plan how to use this time. In other words, is higher education the best choice or is it better to spend this time on learning new skills? A one year time can give us time to think about such issues. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. A few years ago when I graduated high school I immediately went to university as a mechanical engineering student. It was only after a year that I realized that this major does not suit me and what I really liked was barberry. I had no time to think about what job I truly want to have since I was busy whit my studies in last year of high school. Had I not gone to university right after high school I would not have wasted a year of my life.

Furthermore, in choosing a university major, it is important to know what kind of job it will lead to, ans the best method for getting familiar with a particular job is to have that job. For instance when my brother was interested in becoming a mechanical engineer and working in a factory. The problem was that he had no idea what working in a factory was like, so after graduating high schools he started to work in a factory. Of course not as an engineer, but this experience taught him what he wanted to learn. He realized that working in a factory was not what he had thought. So he chose civil engineering.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that it is necessary to have a year between high school and university . That's because it gives young people time to realize what their true interests are, and they can acquire experience about their future job and then make a better choice based on that experience.