Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Children rely too much on technology, like computers, smart phones, video games for fun and entertainment. Playing with simpler toys or playing outside with friends would be better for children’s development.

Since the dawn of civilizations, modern technology has influenced all aspects of people’s lives. Modern fast transportation, new medical methods , significant facilities in big cities are all great examples of the convenience that new developments have brought to our daily lives. But it is not all about advantages, when it comes to major changes we should always keep an eye on possible drawbacks too. Since the considerable part of people’s entertainment has been occupied by the new technology, like computers, smart phones and video games, it is essential to be aware of its impact on people’s lives quality. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this idea is if it is harmful for children’ s development to spend their time using computers, smart phones, video games for fun and entertainment instead of playing with simpler toys or playing outside with friends. I strongly believe that it is vital for children to spend their time having outside activities with their friends instead of watching television and playing video games. In what follows, I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is the impact of new entertainments on children’s physical health and development. Childhood is the most critical period of life which can affect and determine the future life’s quality. Having enough physical activity is an important factor in children’s physical developments. Outside activities and playing with friends usually consist of healthy and happy exercise which helps children to have stronger and healthier bodies while video games, smart phones and computers that encourage children to sit and play for long hours make them susceptible to major health problems like childhood obesity. Another problems is the radiation of smart phones and their potential to cause certain types of cancer or other health problems. Biological and health scientists believe that this radiation damages the living cells in our bodies and kills many of us prematurely, so it is obviously essential for children to stay clear of these kinds of damage as much as possible.

The second reason that I would like to mention is the negative effects of watching television and playing videogames on children’s behavior as well as their mental developments. Several studies have been done to investigate the impact of video games on children’s behavior and the result is shocking. Unfortunately, violence is a large part of all mass media. The more time children spend on playing computer and watching television, the more violent acts they witness. Most of the video games include extreme violence and killing which can have major impacts on children’s mental health and behavior. Psychologists believe that playing violent video games can actually make children feel, think and behave more aggressively. The research also shows that video games have a greater influence than movies and television since they are interactive and players take on the role of the killers in the games. The research also claims that violent video games are to blame for aggressive behavior in schools such as bullying and school shootings. Besides all the negative effects of video games on children’s behavior, they are also harmful for children’s mental developments. Psychologists believe that playing with simple toys could help the child’s brain to develop better. Compared to children who spend their time playing video games, children who spend their time playing with simple toys with their friends have a better chance to be creative and smart in future. They will also have better social skills since they are dealing with other people in outdoor activities, so in future, they would be more confident and so more successful.

To make a long story short, I think it is essential for children to have healthy childhood to increase the chance of success in their future. Since children are not mature enough to make right decisions about some issues like violent video games, it is parents’ responsibility to take care of what their children watch and play and make sure that their children are safe, mentally and physically. They could for example set some ground rules about how much time their children are allowed to play with smart phones, computer or video game. They could also come up with a way to encourage their children to have healthier entertainment like playing with friends, exercising or reading novels.