Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should be required to follow strict rules set by their parents. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Children are like clay, we can give whatever shape we want to them. There is a saying that morning shows the day. How we shape children now, determines their future. But in attempt to make their future bright, making them follow strict rules is not justified. I disagree with the statement that children should be kept under strict rules set by parents.

To begin with, childhood is probably the most creative stage of life and rules seriously undermine their creativity. A famous poet had once said, children are the father of a man. Even adults can learn from them. As they encompass enormous amount of imagination, if we restrict them with set rules and regulations, they become narrow in their thinking and this is not good for their progress. While during my childhood days, I loved painting but my parents forced me to spend time in study which made me quit my hobby to paint. Rules restrict children’s capabilities.

Furthermore, binding the children in rules make them anxious and irritated towards parents and society. This instead of making them disciplined, makes them violent and aggressive. We can see the example of Hitler, who as a kid was forced to follow several restrictions. This led to increasing of hatred in him and finally led to the violent world war second. Sometime, the rules which were devised to make children disciplined may backfire turning them into vicious demon.

On the contrary, if children are not bound by rules, they might strand away from the usual course. As they lack the capacity to distinguish good and bad, they must be made to follow rules so that they stay in the path. Children are vulnerable, yet it’s better to give them moral lessons for teaching them good values rather than keeping them under strict rules and regulations. For my smaller sister, we always opted for teaching her good values instead of restricting her. That way she could decide on her own what is good and what is bad for her. And she always stood up to our expectations, never diverting from her path.

Should children be compelled to follow the rules and regulations? I don’t think so, as the rules hampers their imagination and might negatively affect their temperament. Rather than making them follow rules they should be given lessons to make them a responsible person.