Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Competition between friends usually negatively impacts friendships. Use specific details and examples to support your opinion.

Competition, a way to measure who will the better one, is now being controversially debated about whether it will have a negative effect on friendship when friends are competing with each other. Personally, I am highly convinced that competition will be a barrier in terms the influence it has on friendship.

Primarily, the disagreement between each other will make the friendship unlikely to be maintained. When competing with each other, conflicts are likely to happen as the result of the fact that a competition will end up being a winner and a loser. The one who wins will be gradually look down on the loser, while the one who fail to win the game will envy the winner. In this case, there will be a tendency that even if the friendship still exists, they won’t see eye to eye to each other. Also, this sort of relationship is so dangerous that it can be broken up at any time because there is disagreement on both sides of the relationship. It is plausible that the breaking of the relationship will be easily triggered and when that happens the situation will be more dramatic owing to a longer pent-up process. It turns out that friendship can be hardly remained when friends are competing with one another.

Apart from that, competitors may use some inappropriate methods to fulfill their goals. Contestants tend to do everything to make it possible to achieve their goals when they have their targets in mind. Under such circumstance, even though they realize that they are competing with their friends and are not supposed to do those things which are not regarded to be fair in a competition, they will still do those bad things due to the fact that, as for them, friendship pales in comparison of interests. When their friends as competitors are aware of the negative behaviors done by his or her friends, they will definitely abandon this sort of friendship in which his or her friends can just disregard the existing friendship.

In brief, I believe that friendship cannot be maintained due to the facts that when competing, there will be disagreement coming up and negative behavior tends to be done by one of the members in the friendship when having competitions.