Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Educating children is a more difficult task today that it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web sites. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of human beings, education has played a significant role in people’s lives. No one can turn a blind eye to the enormous effect of education in our daily lives. There is a heated controversy as to whether educating children is more difficult today than it was in the past due to the fact that teenagers, nowadays, spend so much time on mobile phone, online games, and social networking websites, to name but three. In this regard, some people may hold this viewpoint that educating kids is not more difficult today than it was before. Nevertheless, some others take an opposite point of view and believe otherwise. I am firmly in favor of the latter point of view. There are quite a few reasons why I subscribe to this idea, two of which are of great importance in comparison to others, which are elaborated upon hereunder.

One of the reasons coming to my mind at first has to do with the fact that time is the most invaluable gift of our life, and we must consider its value in each and every aspect of our life. Nowadays, as it commonly sensed, with the galloping rate at which science and technology are flourishing, electronic devices are becoming more and more attractive to children. Therefore, children expend most of their time on using such devices to spend their leisure time. Hence, they forget how much time they spend on these devices, since these electronic devices are very astonishing to them. Consequently, they lack time to educate, to practice, and to do their homework, to name but a handful.

Another equally noteworthy point in corroborating my stance is that electronic devices have many functions by which students can solve their educational problems. For example, if a student has a math problem, he or she does not have any interest in thinking, inasmuch as they can use their computer so as to solve the problem for them. Hence, it is very difficult for parents to encourage their children to solve, for instance, the very problem in person. As Stephen Hawking says, and I am quoting, “Technology will take our power of thinking, and some day it will be against our innovation.”

In conclusion, an important issue over which we must ponder to grasp the essence of this piece of writing is that parents in general and teachers in particular should not take the importance of educating children for granted, and should strive to expand children’s knowledge, and encourage them to think.