Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Even if science and technology would continue to advance and improve the quality of people' lives, the most significant improvements have already taken place.

For people like you and me in this information era, it is hard to imagine how our ancestors survived. Poverty, hunger, lack of education, thanks to science and technology, we are tackling these problems one by one. Even though so many achievements have been made through the years, it is not yet to say that the most significant improvements have already taken place. We humans have a glorious history before and an even greater future in the future. I firmly believe that science and technology would make even more significant improvements in the future. Nothing is impossible.

Computer science is one of today’s most promising areas. In the age of information explosion, there are so many achievements yet to be made. Human-computer interaction is one of them. Scientists are working hard in human-computer interaction, and perhaps in the near future, it can be implemented in our daily life. Here is an example. Imagine you are driving a car passing through a café, and you want to buy a cup of latte. All you need to do is make a few taps on the car’s touch screen, and you got the latte. Human-computer interaction can also be applied in medicine, especially for those who suffered from spinal cord injury or lose part of their limbs. By connecting your brain with the device, the device can read your nerve signals do what your brain wanted. It is a blessing for some disabled people.

Gene engineering is another promising area that focuses on the most cutting-edge technologies. Agricultural technology (hybrid crops, genetically-modified food) once helped us fight poverty, and now it is bringing humans to another era- Gene Era. By using gene engineering, scientists can kick off the bad genes in a plant and foster the good ones, thus increasing yields. In the future, gene engineering may also be used in medicine, if we ruled out some ethical reasons. It is possible that a couple may choose to select their good genes, kick off the bad ones, and have a perfect baby of their own.

The earth is not our destination. Exploring outer space provides us with more opportunities for our future generations. Fifty years ago, man made the first landing on the moon- a giant leap for mankind. Nowadays, we have explored the solar system, such as Mars, Mercury, Pluto, and sending rockets in the solar system. In the near future, we will keep exploring the space. Maybe one day, we will find some other outer space creature or our future habitat. The future reserves to be unknown.

To conclude, science and technology will continue to improve our lives profoundly in the future. Some of the future improvements may take place in computer science, medicine, agriculture, or space exploration. The greatest improvement is yet to be made.