Nowadays, there are many different kinds of news and stories on newspapers for people to read or listen to. It is helpful for people if they take a break from reading or listening to the news. Do you think it is beneficial for people to stop reading or listening to the news for a period of a few days or a week? Why or why not?

In today’s information era, rapid technology advancements provide people with many ways to acquire up-to-date information. Reading and listening to the news is one of them. However, in my perspective, the benefits outweigh the disadvantages for people to stop reading the news for several days. My reasons and examples are given below.

To begin with, stop reading or listening to the news for some time improves working efficiency. Reading the news can be very time-consuming; sometimes, the words are printed so tightly that it takes up to an hour to finish reading a newspaper. When we are working, the news keeps lingering around us, distracting our attention. This habit reduces our work efficiency. Therefore, we can significantly improve our working efficiency by not reading the newspaper for a period. For instance, last week, I heard about a tragic car accident in the morning news broadcast. I kept thinking about it during working hours and finished my work three hours later than usual. As a result, my supervisor criticized me for not paying attention to my work.

Furthermore, stop reading the news allows us to develop deeper social relationships. Reading and listening to the news keeps people occupied, thus having less time to contact old friends or create new relationships. My personal experience serves as a compelling example. Last summer, I stopped subscribing to a newspaper and listening to broadcasts and joined a classical music club to learn the violin. I met a lot of friends and excellent mentors in the club. We practiced together, discussed music together, and had fun together.

Admittedly, some people may argue that stop reading the news makes people isolated from the outside world. Indeed, people will not learn about some recent report or political event, but other sources of information such as the internet and printed books can help as well. On the one hand, today’s internet is so powerful that you can find almost everything on it. On the other hand, printed books provide concise and complicated knowledge that can broaden one’s outlook.

In conclusion, it is beneficial for people to stop reading or listening to the news for some time. This improves work efficiency; for another, this provides people with more opportunities to develop deeper relationships. Furthermore, people can still get a massive amount of information by surfing the internet or reading printed books.