Some people think that older children should be required to take care of the younger children.

Others think that this should be done by parents or other adults.

Which one do you prefer?

In this fast-paced society, babysitting becomes a serious issue. Some people think that older children are supposed to take care of their younger children. Indeed, sometimes parents are too busy to look after their young kids. However, for newborns’ healthy growth, older children should not be required to take care of younger children.

First, a kid is too young to shoulder the responsibility of looking after another kid. Taking care of a kid is a huge task. It requires a lot of skills, patience, and energy. On the one hand, older children lack babysitting skills, such as changing diapers and feeding. On the other hand, older children are often impatient. If the younger children cry, an older child may scold them. Above all, for safety reasons, older children are not supposed to take care of younger children to avoid all kinds of accidents.

Second, adults have the responsibility to take care of minors. Parents have paternal leaves, which makes babysitting possible. Grandparents can help, from time to time. Even if both parents and grandparents are too busy to look after newborns, they can hire babysitters. The babysitting industry is well-developed nowadays. A reliable babysitter is beneficial to a newborn’s growth.

Admittedly, it is worthwhile for older children to spend some time with the younger children to foster relationships. Under their parents’ guidance, or babysitters’ guidance, older children could feed, play with, or change diaper for the younger children. By caring for the younger kids, a child will not only develop a natural bond with his brother/sister, but also understand the hardship of babysitting.

To conclude, older children are not supposed to take care of younger children, safety is the main reason. Parents should look after young kids themselves or find backups such as grandparents or professional babysitters. However, it is beneficial for the old children to care for the young children.