Some people think that older children should be required to take care of the younger children. Others think that this should be done by parents or other adults. Which do you prefer?

It goes without saying that a great number of families with more than one child, rely on their first child more than the others and give them more responsibilities. The age difference between the siblings causes the parents to get help from the oldest one in taking care of youngers. Some people are inclined toward the attitude that it is unfair to put such responsibilities on older children, while others hold exactly the opposite perspective. From my vantage point, making the elders take care of the younger one is beneficial for both the parents and the children. In the following essay, I will pinpoint the most outstanding reasons.

First, taking care of younger siblings is a very good practice for older ones to become more responsible and social in their ensuing lives. By taking responsibilities as young as a child, children are provided by more experiences. These experiences can be beneficial even when they grow old and become parents themselves. Consequently, it is beneficial for not only one generation but also all the upcoming generations too. For instance, my mother is the first children in her family. When she was eight years old, my uncle was born. She had to take care of her little brother and even feed him or make him sleep whenever needed. Although she married at a young age and become a mother a little while after, all the experiences, which she gained through taking care of her sibling, helped her to become a wonderful mother who raised her children without any difficulties.

Second, when older children take care of the younger children, this may increase the intimacy between the siblings and lead to a warmer family. This will help the whole family to live in peace since children fight with each other less often. Besides, as children grow older this intimacy will be maintained and they would not be alone in the unfavorable world alone without support. An example drives this notion home. In the case of my mother’s family, the children really love each other and will do everything for each other. Among them, my mother as the first child is the most beloved member of the family and she is the biggest supporter of her brothers and sisters. When they face a problem, my mother is the first one from whom they get help.

To wrap it up, I firmly believe that giving older children the responsibility of taking care of younger ones is an effective solution to have a happy family. Not only do the children become more responsible, but also the family will experience more intimate relationships. I myself as the first child of the family gained a lot of experiences and become more responsible. Furthermore, my sister and I are really close and have a very pleasant relationship.