When people are giving feedback to other people’s work, is it better to give positive ones first or to give negative ones first?

Giving feedback is very common in our daily life. For instance, a professor gives feedbacks to students’ homework assignments, a supervisor giving feedbacks to subordinates’ monthly reports, a project manager gives feedback to a coworker’s planning scheme. In such cases, the sequence of giving positive feedbacks and negative ones matters. In my opinion, it is always the right choice to point out positive ones first. My reasons and examples are given below.

Employees feel their jobs are respected when they receive positive feedback in the first place. One way to show an employee your respect is to credit his work. After being praised, an employee will think that his job is worthwhile, and works even harder the next time. Take my first internship experience, for instance, I stayed up late for several days to complete a monthly report. Although by the deadline, there were still some errors left uncorrected, my supervisor praised me for my industriousness and the format of the report. When hearing such feedbacks, I felt my work has been respected and I should work harder next month.

Coworkers will be in a good mood when receiving positive feedback first. A positive team environment is essential when it comes to the success of a project. Therefore, one should always give positive feedback first so that no one will be upset. Take a new product introduction project that I worked with 3 years ago for example. The project leader is an arrogant, impatient, 40-year-old male, he always criticized me for my bad performance and lack of experience despite I have tried my best. I felt really nervous and unconfident during that time. My coworkers were all afraid of him, and our team environment is bad. Our project failed and our team was quickly disbanded.

Giving positive feedbacks in the first place makes it easier to ask for further improvements. The purpose of giving feedback is not only about praising or criticizing but also about providing recommendations on revisions. After praising the work, it couldn’t be more natural to make it better, to pursue perfection, and the employee will happily accept this advice.