The company would like to invest in improving employees’ work. Which way do you think is better?

to help employees become more adept to new technology

to redesign the working environment to be more comfortable and spacious

In this competitive society, more employees have longer working hours but lower working efficiency. A feasible way to improve employees’ working performance is to redesign the working environment because a good working environment keeps employees energetic and in a good mood. Moreover, a company can also enhance its reputation by creating a better working environment.

First and foremost, a good working environment lifts employee’s mood. In this competitive business environment, people have longer working hours. The 40-hour a week traditional working style no longer exists, some office workers work more than 100 hours a week. Therefore, the longer working hours and bigger working pressure make it hard for employees to keep good moods. As we all know, a bad mood results in low working efficiency and less output. A good working environment provides a cure for such a situation. In a better working environment, employees tend to feel more relaxed and comfortable. As a result, they perform better at work.

Furthermore, a spacious working environment keeps the employees energetic. Nowadays, people tend to lead a sedentary lifestyle. With longer office hours, more white-collar workers become sit through the day, staring at the computer screen. Tight office space is one of the leading causes of this problem. For instance, my first internship is in a freight forwarding company. Its workstation is so small, that I can hardly put all my belongings in it. I had a miserable summer intern, almost stressed out by the bad working environment. In contrast, my second internship is in a manufacturing company, which has a spacious office. Every day I went to work with high energy because the working condition was very nice. In the end, I had much better working achievements.

Last but not the least, a nice working environment will improve a company's reputation, thus building a sense of pride among the workers and improving their work. Normally, big-name companies all have a better working environment than small companies. Take Google as an example. Google not only has a good canteen, which allows its employees to enjoy different cuisine around the world, it also has swimming pools and gyms. Needless to say, such a good working environment enhances a company’s popularity and motivates employees to work harder.

To sum up, a better working environment is worth investing in. A good working environment makes employees relaxed and energetic, and it also promotes the company's reputation.