Many young people face the problems of finding a job after graduation. Which of the following method would you recommend?

1. asking for others’ advice

2. sending emails to the companies

3. searching information on-line or other publications

In today's competitive job market, it is harder and harder for a new college graduate to find a job. Some people have trouble figuring out what they really want to do, let alone starting a promising career. From my perspective, asking for others' advice is the most effective and rewarding method to find a job.

To begin with, the most effective way to find a job is to ask for help. The person you turned to can tell you the most relevant truths and the most enlightening responses because he or she went through similar experiences many years ago. Therefore, asking the right person for help is much more effective than blindly sending e-mails to companies and searching for information online. My own experience serves as a compelling one. When I was a graduate student two years ago, I spent two months sending resumes blindly but got no reply. Defeated by reality, I turned to a career center instructor for help. The instructor pointed out there is a lack of coherence in my resume and helped me correct it. Two months later, I got my dream offer.

Furthermore, asking for others' advice deepens interpersonal relationships, which helps a lot in the workplace. A good social relationship helps you avoid mistakes, perform nicely, and increase the chance of getting an offer. For instance, one can turn to seniors to avoid any silly mistakes during a job interview. If he is lucky enough to get the offer, one can keep in touch with the senior and ask for more working tips. This builds a long-lasting interpersonal relationship, which might be very useful.

Admittedly, some people are too shy to ask for help when finding a job. Sometimes, one cannot find a trustworthy person to turn to. Under such circumstances, it is feasible to search for information online and go through the application procedures alone. But always bear in mind that there is much fake information online, it would be hard to distinguish goods ones from the bad ones. Therefore, one should be cautious when searching online information alone.

In conclusion, asking for others' advice is the best way to find a job because it is effective and deepens interpersonal relationships. In contrast, blindly sending e-mails to companies or searching for information online are risky and unrewarding.