Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Being limited by the economy, we used to live within a big family in the past. The collective living style has several advantages, such as, saving the living cost, gathering the labor forces and so on. So it is essential for our last generation to make all the benefits by the extended family with all the relatives to maintain the life. But these days, the background of our society is changed, the importance of the extended family is completely declined.

The economy have developed rapidly in modern society. Nowadays, we no need to live collectively to maintain a basic life. The young generation shift into big cities to seek more opportunities or make use of the facilities equipped by cities. Obviously they no longer lived together as the physical area is changed. In this case, the benefits of the original extended family brings are no longer efficient.

Even when the new generation stays in their hometown, the negative affect of the big extended family is increasing. The payments cannot always gain the precise rewards which will easily lead to conflicts between the relatives. Many examples around me showed relatives quarreled on the inherent rights and obligations of taking care of the old ones.

Last but not the least, the values of organizing a family vary from generations to generations, individuals to individuals. With a relative free environment, several person choice living in single state rather than in the relationship of marriage. This kind of phenomenon also implies that the extended family does not play an important role nowadays as it does before.