Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Family is an inextricable part of human life since many of us spend most of our time with our families. If it is asked the extended family is less important nowadays than before or not, due to the controversial nature of this question, there is not a general argument on this issue. I am, however, to the great extent of conviction that our extended family becomes less important in our contemporary lives due to the two significant explanations.

The main reason is that technology has broadened our horizons. This means that because of new social media, that technology has provided us, the people have found many new friends and they communicate with them on behalf of their family. For example, when I was five years old my only friend was one of my cousins. We had to play with each other in their home, which was in our neighborhood, and we didn't have anything else to do. On the other hand, my son, which is six years old now, has more than twenty friends, whom he found on Instagram. As you can illustrate easily, My son couldn't have cultivated those relationships, if there is no technology available in our ongoing life.

Another reason is that people don't have sufficient time to spend with their family. In other words, due to the hardships of new crowded urban lives, the citizens don't have enough time to go to their grandparents' homes and this will lessen the importance of extended family. For instance, I remember, twenty years ago, we had to go to my grandma's home at least once a week and we had a lot of fun days in those spacious rooms. Furthermore, In those gatherings, all of the family could see each other and enjoy spending time talking about many things in the world. However, these traditions have been forgotten because every single person in these new crowded cities couldn't find a proper time to spend with his or her relatives.

To put the issue into perspective, in spite of the fact that some may think that the importance of the family hasn't changed, I believe that it has lessened on an enormous scale. Not only many new virtual friends, whom technology has found for us, superseded our extended family in our lives, but also people don't have ample time to spend with their relatives.