Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at a young age.

Financial matters are one of the inextricable parts of human life because all of the people engage with economic matters when they become adults. If it is asked whether or not children should learn to manage their own money at young ages, due to the controversial nature of this question, there is not a general agreement on this issue. I am, however, to a great extent of conviction that children should learn to manage their own money at young ages due to two important reasons. The following paragraphs will aptly substantiate my personal stance.

The main reason is that this method will help them to learn self-sufficiency. It means when they understand how to manage their money they will find many ways to save that better and to afford the expenses of their lives much more easily. For example, I remember when I was five years old my father gave me a little specific amount of money per week. When I asked him to give me more, he always said that this is enough and mentioned that "you can afford your expenses with this amount". In the first weeks, I had many problems such as arriving home after school because I didn't have enough money to take a taxi. After a while, I could overcome the problems by finding some alternative ways. For instance, instead of taking a taxi I used public transportations like trains and buses and they were much cheaper. As a result of that, in my ongoing life, all of those ways, which I learned to afford my life's expenses, are helping me to be economically powerful among my friends. As you can see, I wouldn't have become self-sufficient, if I didn't learn how to manage my own money.

Another reason is that people, who have learned to handle their own money, will become better managers. To put it in other words, these people can earn money much easier since they understood and recognized how to do that. For instance, as I grew up my father always forced me to be independent and helped me to learn how to handle my economic problems. As a result, I am the most wealthy and affluent person among my relatives and colleagues.

To put the issue into perspective, in spite of the fact that some may believe children should be economically free when they are young, I think it is better to teach them how to manage their own money. Not only will they become self-sufficient, but also they will learn how to earn money better and become more powerful managers.