Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A good leader should spend more time listening to other people's ideas than taking his or her own ideas.

A controversial debate is raised about the quality of good leaders. Some people hold the view that good ;leaders should not take into consideration other people's ideas. However, some others may have a different view and believe that it is better to be open minded and listen to other people's ideas. Form my vantage point, I concur with the later group for that open minded people can enhance their knowledge and be more communicative with others.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that by listening to others, leaders can enhance their knowledge. leaders who are open minded take the opportunity to listen to people and learn from them. Without listening to the concerns of others a leader would no be able to accomplish his tasks properly. A vivid example which can illustrate by view is a leader who were asked for a an increase in wages from his employees. After several years of continuous denial, many of his best performing members of his team quite the company. Therefore, failure to others lead no only the failure of the leader but also to significant losses by the company.

The second reason which deserves some attention is that leaders who listen to others make employees happy. Employees who feels that there are nobody listening to them, develop low self esteem and loose motivation. An important duty of a leader is to keep employees motivated. Without motivation employees cannot perform their functions and feel frustrated. Thus, a smart leader would listen to his employees and encourage them because this would make them happy and be hard workers

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first to cross my mind at a glance, they are by no means the only reasons available. In fact, there is another subtle reason which is worth to be mentioned. The noteworthy, refreshing, intelligible study that was conducted on 120 leaders which showed that leaders who listen to others have 50% more chance of succeeding in their careers than their peers who do not listen to others. The study was conducted on leaders from different organizations to prevent anybias.

To wrap up, contemplating the aforementioned reason, one soon realizes that leaders who listen to other gain more knowledge and are able not only to accomplish their tasks, but also create an environment where employees can thrive.