Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the government plays an important role in the development of the society and every government's decision is significant since the welfare is collected from the citizens. And whether to spend more money on art or on athletics has led to a heated discussion. Personally, I agree with the statement that more money is encouraged to spend by the government on arts than athletics for the following reasons.

Firstly, the funds on arts are mainly for the public, meaning that almost all people in the society have the opportunity to take part and benefit from it. This makes the funds much more meaningful to the society, narrowing the poverty gap within the nation. For example, the government of the city that I live in has spent a great deal of money on the art gallery, which is open to the public for free. I went to the art gallery once it has open, and to my surprise, a men with dirty who seemed to be the poor also went to enjoy the art work. This citizen in the society might not be wealthy and even it is hard for them to keep up their basic life. But thanks to the government, they have this precious chance to go to the gallery and enjoy this kind of social resource. Unlike funds for the Olympic teams that only a small group of people in the society can benefit from it, citizens from children to the elderly are possible to get access to this gallery and enjoy the art atmosphere.

Admittedly, the state-sponsored Olympic team members worth the fund for the hard work they have paid during training for the sake and honor of the country. Only a small group of people in the society can benefit from this funding, which bring less positive social impacts them the arts funds. The national volleyball team who won the champion in Olympic Game from my country has a great number of money for their hard work. But in my opinion, the funds for athletes are only for them but not the public, making this fund less efficient for the social development.

In summary, although the athletes should have been rewarded for their hard work during training, it is more meaningful to spend the money on art for the government. Because art is for public and helps to strengthen the soft-core power of a nation and contributes more to the society.