Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, it is beyond doubt that sports are an integral part of our society. In this regard, having excellent athletes is of paramount importance. There has been no shortage of debate among scholars. Some contemplate that the field of art should be improved while others reckon sports should get more support. As for the writer's opinion, I subscribe to the notion by disagreeing that government should fund arts more as compared to athletics. In what follows, I will delve into the most crucial reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

The first compelling reason corroborating my idea is that sports represent the country's reputation. It is crystal clear that when events like the Olympics and the world cup happens, the country with more economic power wins due to the fact that they invest in their sportspersons. The expenses of maintaining good health are profound and require funding from government or private authorities. By spending money on them, people will get inspired and will get attracted towards a healthy life. Moreover, state-sponsored games bring revenues for the government. By way of illustration, a few years ago research conducted on team performance showed that the team of America always leads because the government sponsors them by 60% while the African government spends only 10% on athletics. That's why always loses. This clearly explains my point.

The second exquisite reason behind my belief is rooted in the fact that sports-like events unite nations. It is notable that during championship and matches, the majority of the nation takes interest in them and take an active part. People do gatherings and watch shows together. Players are always trending on social media and people come to watch matches even from different parts of the world. Thus, by promoting sports and spending money on them, the government gives an opportunity of uniting and acting as a nation. As a case in mind, in 2012, when Pakistan won a cricket match against India, the celebration lasts for 3 days. My family spent those days at my cousin's place and had a lot of fun. This example manifests my viewpoint.

By perusing the above paragraphs, one can infer although the field of art is so diverse and emerging, sports are of much more significance. For the sake of brevity, a couple of reasons are worth reiterating; first, sports reflects a country's position, secondly, it unites nations worldwide. As a writer, I vehemently urge the government to fund athletics more. By doing so, the country will prosper.