Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critically important that governments use their founds in proper way, in order to help the people achieve their dreams. Personally, I believe that investing in Olympic teams would be the best choice for the state to spend the money. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, I would say that, the governments should encourage their people to play sports. Any kind of sport including athletics will be a good idea for the individuals to play. I feel this way because we all know that there are a lot of benefits for all of us when we do physical activities. People that are athletics, rare have any health condition like diabetes, high blood pressure or high cholesterol. So, those group of people are the healthiest in our socieity. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I have been practicing sports since I was three years old and I am so healthy. I do not have any issues with my body and mind. So, I want to say that physicals activities keeps you fresh mentally and physically. Therefore, the governments should spend more money in athletics and keep their people healthy. This is because if the individuals are healthy they are able to work, and it helps the state grow, especially in economic way.

Furthermore, having athletics is also beneficial for the state, because they will go in competition with other states, and if the win, the state will keep the taxes of the prize. So, those money will go back in the state's budget. For example, my brother plays sport back in my country, which is Macedonia. Last year they had a competition in running with our neighbor state Greece. My brother was the first to reach the finish line and he won the first prize of twenty thousands dollars. From this amount, he only took fifteen thousand, and five thousands went in state's budget. Also, this is not his only time he takes the first place, so every time he is winning a good amount of money goes back to state's bank account.

This is why I think the government should support the athletics.

Taking everything into consideration, if the government spends money in atletics, it will never be a waste, it is something that one day they will get the money back. So, by spending the funds in smart way you will always be the winner.