Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays people are watching movies and other programs in television for long period of time during the day. In my opinion, I think that this behavior have a negative impact for them. I feel this way for some reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, staying in front of the television's screen is unhealthy for all of us. I hold this opinion because it may affect our eyes in a negative way. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in high school, about eight years ago, I used to watch all kind of movies, like horror, romantic, trailers and so on, and I was seating in front of the television for hours. After some time, like about after one year I realized that one of my eyes was hurting me. I went to the eye doctor, and he found out that I was not able to see the same with both eyes. He did give me some drops to put in my eyes and also he advised me to wear glasses. That is why I think that watching movies can be very harmful for people's health.

Furthermore, individuals that watch a lot of movies are less socialized. The have difficulties making friends or dealing with the people around them. They are not flexible when interacting with others. I can explain this from my friend's experience. When she was little kid, she was staying home alone, because her parents had to work, and of course she had nothing to do, but to watch cartoons. Later when she started to go to school, she had hard time making friends, and she was always so aggressive and easily distracted by others. It took her three years to adopt with the society and to start making friends. I started talking with her when we were in the fifth grade, because before that I was afraid to get closer to her. I was scared that she might think I want to hurt her, so I kept staying away from her. And she had this behavior because she was isolated in her house with just watching movies and go to sleep.

Taking everything into consideration, I would say that it is better to go outside and talk with friends, rather then looking at the screen all day long, because if will affect us negatively in many ways.