Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments and private companies should share their scientific discoveries with the rest of the world.

It is undoubtedly that certain scientific inventions or discoveries play significant roles in development of society. Some people claim that it is advisable for governments and businesses to keep scientific discoveries secret. However, I could hardly agree more with the statement that those discoveries should be shared among scientists because it can contribute to improvement of people's lives.

To begin with, sharing discoveries of new energy can help protect the environment. Nowadays, people rely too much on traditional carbon-based fuels, which leads to the production of industrial emissions. People might get diseases due to the emissions. For example, industrial waste water could pollute drinking water and corps and people who consume them would have stomach problems. Therefore, sharing of scientific discoveries could help popularize the use of new clean energy to solve environmental problems. Taking auto industry as an example, if some companies which own certain technology to use new energy could share their discoveries with other scientist, clean fuels can be used on more cars to reduce exhaust emission which could be beneficial for protection of environment. However, if those companies choose not to share their new technology, the environment problems resulted from the use of traditional fuels would not be able to be solved in a short term, which could cause negative impacts on the health of future generations.

In addition, if scientific discoveries could be shared among scientists from diverse backgrounds, it can improve medical care greatly especially in those development countries. For one thing, nowadays, the high cost of medical treatment puts significant pressure on people. Sharing new technologies related to medicine or medical instruments can render the treatment cheaper than before, thus financial burden of people could be alleviated. For another, a large number of diseases currently are not able to be cured in many development countries and the death rate is extremely high. If scientific sharing could be carried out, then healthcare plans of developed countries could be popularized which might help millions of patients. It can significantly decrease the death rate in development countries which can further bring about benefits to social stability. By contrast, if governments of developed countries keep medical discoveries secret, the society of those development countries might become chaotic due to relatively high death rate and it could even lead to wars.

To sum up, we may safely conclude that it is better to share scientific discoveries among scientists worldwide instead of keeping them secret. This is because scientific sharing can not only be beneficial to environmental protection, but also help the improvement of medical care.