Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing sports games teaches us about life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are undoubtedly many reasons why people play sports. Some people may claim that the main causes are health and entertainment. However, I could hardly agree more that sports can actually serve as powerful lessons as I now involve myself in it often enough.

One important life lesson I learned from sport games is that it is not always better to win. Normally, people take winning in a competition as something worth celebrating, but my experiences of playing sports with friends and families let me know that what matters most when playing games with them is to have a good time together. Taking winning too seriously could lead to negative impacts on our relationships since we might consider others as competitors and loath them which possibly hurts their feelings. Sometimes, we even need to deliberately lose the game in order to cheer others up, which could be a good way to establish better relationships . A person who is addicted to the feeling of being superior all the time is unlikely to have anyone close to him or her. Having a good experience in playing is much more important for most of people.

Another important principle I figured out by playing sports is that if we want to be trusted, we need to have faith in others first. We all have seen people complaining that they are not given the opportunities to do something they can, and a lot of them tend to blame it on the jealousy of others, but when I played basketball with some strangers on the court, I realized if I chose to believe that a person could score and thus him the ball, the person would also willing to count on me when I had the chance. Simply put, people treat us the way we treat them. When you are unselfish on the basketball court, you can cooperate with your teammates to score and win.

To sum up, from what we have discussed above, one of the greatest things about life is that there are lessons to be taken everywhere. If we keep that in mind, then we will realize that we are making discoveries even when we do not intend to do so.