Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in sponsoring arts than in athletics (like state Olympics team).

In every society there are some valuable areas like arts and athletics, which should get support from governments by financing and giving them subsidies. Areas like arts and sports contribute a big role to a society member’s welfare. While these supports for such areas is vital, some people believe it is better to invest money on supporting sporting activities and athletic teams. In contrast, some people believe this money should be absorbed by art activities and areas related to art. My opinion corresponds with people who believe governments should spend money in sponsoring arts.

Arts effect and role are indisputable in improving the culture of any society. Art activities like art galleries and exhibitions could be held in cities. These kind of activities fill the free hours of people in valuable way. People could bring their children to these activities, which children’s culture and knowledge about history and art, both are improved after visiting such places. In addition, theaters and cinemas are also considered in this area. If we eliminate these kind of places from any town, the quality of life plunge there. I remember when I was child there is a cinema in our city which our parents brought us to there every weekends. We watched a lot of movies and master pieces of cinema which contribute a big role in our culture. After a while, this cinema was closed because of some financial problems. We couldn’t imagine our weekends without going to cinema and watching movies. Fortunately, municipality of town bought that place, therefore the cinema could continue to work. This example of my own life illustrate how and why governments should support the artistic activities and places in cities.

The second reason of mine is athletics could get sponsors from non-governmental companies. We all know most of sport teams can get sponsors because of their ability to rich a lot of people from broadcasting their matches from media. These companies most of the time compete each other to be a sponsor of a sport team. Therefore, the money problem of sport teams is less than art activities. On other hand, art activities could not get sponsors like sport teams; therefore, this duty belongs to governments to sponsor art activities. To give an example, Nike is a big company which producing sport clothes, is the sponsor of most sport teams, even the more infamous ones like state teams. But you could imagine Nike is come and be sponsor of an art exhibition of a very famous artist. Not only Nike, it is same for most of companies.

In summary, in my opinion if governments have enough financial sources, they should support both arts and athletics equally. But in a condition, which governors should choose one area to put money there, it’s better to give it to art. Because arts is necessary for the culture of society; in other hand, while sport teams could get sponsors easily, it’s a big challenge for art activities to do that.