Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in sponsoring arts than in athletics (like state Olympics team).

Nowadays, merely all the people play sports when they are free or they are just engage in sports. So there is an assertion that playing sports can teach people lessons about life. Considering my experience, playing basketball, I totally agree with this assertion. From sports, I learn a lot, and more accurately, some of them are life-long lessons.

Firstly, the initial lesson I learn from sports is that even if you strive for one thing so hard, you might still be unable to succeed. Why? This is because something called unchangeable factors, for instance talents, opportunities. Take my experience as an case in point. Before I engaged in basketball, I once played table tennis in my school team. I learnt this sport when I was only 6 years old. Thus, on account of my early exercise on table tennis, so I could play this sport slightly better than peers. But when I entered into my school team, facing with so many talented athletes, though I dedicated myself into table tennis' practice every day, I were the last one all the time when competing with teammates. At that time, I knew that endeavor cannot be the only factor to people success, many other factors are altogether determine whether people can succeed or not,

Secondly, another lesson learned from sports is that you are ought to never give up until the last minute. It means that, do not lose hope before the final result come out. In contrast, we are unable to be satisfied too early till to the last moment. Once, I participated in a basketball competition and competed with an extreme strong team, the one who had won the last competition the time before that year. No one believed that our team can win the competition in the end. However, during the games, our team members never gave up. Although they were so strong that we were exhausted at the first half, we still made great effort to defend them and found opportunities to get points. At the last minute, my teammate, Emily, threw a 3-point ball into basket and reversed the failure of our team. Finally, we won and we learnt that never give up until the last moment.

Also, resilience is the third lesson I get from sports. When we play sports, especially competing activities, we will always win and lose in competition. So how to be motivated when we fail and do not be proud when we win the games is essential for every person.

All in all, the lessons about success, persistence, resilience are the three important lessons I learned from sports. It is undeniable that these lessons are advantageous for us in our whole life.