Some people think that we should keep away from others to improve our relationship, because being away from people reminds us of how important they are. Others think we should always stay with others to have good relationship because we can communicate wi

Some people stress the physical and mental distance between friends. They hold the view that only the distance can help people remind of the preciousness of our friends and cherish friends later on. However, others think that the distance between friends will cause damages and unfamiliarity between them. I agree with the latter assertion for several reasons which will be elaborated as follows.

To begin with, keeping close with our friends strengthens our relationship, especially when they are upset or helpless. When in difficulties or in low spirit, we find it comforting to have close friend around us. There is an old saying, "A friend in need is the friend indeed. For instance, last year I lose in a speech competition, which made me depressed. But, my friend Emily comforted me immediately, encouraged me by her own failure and analyzed the problem and mistakes during my competition. Instantly, I feel better and find the new impulse to endeavor for next year fight. Apparently, relationship can be strengthened by close interaction and needed assistance.

Furthermore, the distance can gradually erode the trust among friends if they have some misunderstandings. Immediate communication with friends, especially when there are a bit of controversies or misunderstandings, promotes and closes friendship. If friends don't meet with each other for a long time, the contradictory is unlikely to figure out. Take my friend’s experience as an example. My friends, Lydia, broke up with her boyfriend due to a long-distance relationship. Either of them has no time to meet with each other, therefore the misunderstanding between them is getting deeper and deeper. Consequently, their three-year-relationship comes to the end. The friendship is somehow identical with the love.

Also, we can know one's moral quality more rapidly if we can frequently get along with him/her. Frequent meet can hasten the exposure of friends' drawbacks. By this way, we are capable of discriminate good friends from bad. For instance, when I initially encountered a person, I thought he is polite, gentle and handsome. I had a good first impression to him, whereas after getting in touch with him for two weeks, I no longer interacted with him anymore. This is because he is squandered, often spends money on luxury, useless substances and will throw them away when he lost his interest on them. Indeed. Distance can engender people to find out their friends' true personalities quickly and decide whether they will meet with them again.

All in all, close interaction with friend is able to give assistants to friend in need, remove misinterpretation among them and figure out their true personalities. Thus, we have to stay close with our friends to strengthen our relationship.