Businesses should hire employees for their entire lives. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, there are some companies providing their employees with security of their whole lives, on the contrary, others do not. So there is a heated discussion on whether the whole-life securities should be implemented as a regulation among enterprises. I disagree with this measure for at least three reasons which will be elaborated as follows.

First and foremost, to ensure the entire life of the employees is detrimental to the growth of both enterprises and societies. As for the enterprises, employees who have job security are unable to be motivated as when their occupations are not certain. Therefore, increasing number of employees might be less productive and efficient during their working time, causing the stagnancy of companies and may lose in the fierce competitions. Also, from the social angle, the authoritative research, conducted by Harvard University, illustrates that the transfer of talent among different companies is the engine of the creating more social value. It is because the expertise transferring is propulsion to the fierce competition in the markets, which of the best interest to the technological improvement. And as the technological improvement accumulates with ages; more treasure can be gained in the future. Indeed, job security does harm to the prosperity of the whole country.

Furthermore, employees are prone to search for higher-paid occupation, and the job security is unnecessary to some degree. After interviewing almost 20 workers in my companies, I conduct a conclusion that the majority of the employees nowadays would prefer the promotion in their department or more salaries. Accordingly, if the companies cannot provide more decent occupations with a higher compensation for them, the job security cannot assist them to retain talents, so it means nothing. Apparently, to provide an employee a life-long job is not an optimal attraction to appeal to talented people.

Admittedly, job security somehow shows the responsibilities of enterprises and can gain good reputations for them. But as far as I am concerned, more options can be considered to achieve this purpose. For instance, providing more medical insurance and maternity insurance for employees, and building up a housing funding for them, are, in practice, more attractive measures.

All in all, although providing an employee a job for their whole life is a responsible behavior, considering the prosperity of the society and enterprises, and finding out the attraction of employees, I do not think the job security is an excellent choice.